CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software

Welcome to the official CODESYS Forum by 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH | A member of the CODESYS Group
Deutsche Version English version russian version 
It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:55 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: licenses question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:05 pm
Posts: 97
In our company we are Planning to start using the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ device as a small PLC.

I would like to ask you some questions:

1. Which runtime license do we need to buy for a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+?
a. CODESYS Control for Raspberry Pi SL
b. CODESYS Control for Raspberry Pi MC SL

2. We plan to use the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ device as an EtherCAT master, do we need any other license for that?

3. We plan to use the “web visu” in those projects too; do we need any other license for that?
a. The Pi will be connected using HDMI to a big TV, the same Pi will start the Chromium browser in kiosk mode showing the visualization into the TV.

4. Given our scenario: programming a Raspberry from our PC, are the Codesys programming development tools (programming software) free?
a. Do we need to buy any license for being able to program that Raspberry from our computer?

Thank you very much for your time and answers.

_________________
http://www.robotecnik.com - robots, CNC and PLC programming.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3450
Quote:
1. Which runtime license do we need to buy for a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+?
a. CODESYS Control for Raspberry Pi SL
b. CODESYS Control for Raspberry Pi MC SL

This is up to you!
Both is possible to use with PI3 - Multicore Version you have additional the possibilty to distribute the tasks to deticated cores,
for example Visu on Core1, Ethercat on Core 0 ...

Quote:
2. We plan to use the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ device as an EtherCAT master, do we need any other license for that?

Everything is included

Quote:
3. We plan to use the “web visu” in those projects too; do we need any other license for that?
a. The Pi will be connected using HDMI to a big TV, the same Pi will start the Chromium browser in kiosk mode showing the visualization into the TV.

Everything is included
Quote:
4. Given our scenario: programming a Raspberry from our PC, are the Codesys programming development tools (programming software) free?
a. Do we need to buy any license for being able to program that Raspberry from our computer?

No in general nothing extra is needed, there are some products like SVN Integration / Static Analysis etc.. which give additional posibilities...


BR
Edwin


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:05 pm
Posts: 97
Thank you very much Edwin!

_________________
http://www.robotecnik.com - robots, CNC and PLC programming.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 6:42 am
Posts: 25
Hi,
I have a question maybe related to this thread..
So I wanted to try multicore support capabilities of Raspberry and Codesys but unfortunately I ended up with exception:
Attachment:
Capture.PNG


My task setup looks like that:
Attachment:
Capture1.PNG


How to deal with it?

Thanks!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3450
Hi,
For multicore you need the license there is no demo mode available... (due technical reasons)
BR
Edwin


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 6:42 am
Posts: 25
Hi Edwin,

Thanks but..

I have tried that on Raspberry Pi that is licensed and I have exactly the same problem...

Is there different license for multicore?

Thanks in advance for answer :)

BR

Lukasz


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: licenses question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3450
Hi,
yes it is a different license -> Multicore license..

BR
Edwin


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited