CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software

Welcome to the official CODESYS Forum by 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH | A member of the CODESYS Group
Deutsche Version English version russian version 
It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:37 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:05 pm
Posts: 97
Are there any way to turn my Raspberry Pi into an Ethernet/Ip adapter (Slave) in order to Read/Write Codesys arrays from an Allen Bradley ControlLogix PLC?
I'm trying to find an easy way to make my Raspberry Pi communicate with a ControlLogix PLC through Ethernet. Any suggestions?

Thank you.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 5:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3499
Hi,

this is an open point on the roadmap I see the following improvement in our database:
CDS-31944 EtherNet/IP: Implement EtherNet/IP Adapter
Is it possible to realize it vice versa Raspberry Pi = EtherNet/IP Scanner , Rockwell = EtherNet/IP Adpater?
found this tutorial which demonstrates how to setup Ethernet/IP scanner(sure with another adapter): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrV7laAJkDk

BR
Edwin


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:05 pm
Posts: 97
Thanks for your reply but I don't think it is possible to use a ControlLogix as an Ethernet/IP adapter.
Would it be possible to use Produced/Consumed tags over Ethernet/IP between CODESYS and a ControlLogix?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:32 pm
Posts: 32
No, it's not possible. I think this feature ist availabel in version 3.5Sp7.
The EtherNet/IP adapter in the actual version have not a functionality.
This is the answer from the official codesys support:

wir haben bisher nur den Scanner als eigenen Stack,
der Adapter wird vermutlich zu 3.5Sp7 folgen,
das heitß Sie können das aktuelle noch nicht mit dem PI Machen
Der grund warum man den in CODESYS dazumachen kann ist weil er als BASIS für eine Hilscher Cifx Karte mal konfiguriert wurde..
Bin mir aber nicht sicher ob das aktuell noch geht.
Ich hoffe das wird aus dem CODESYS Setup entfernt werden und erst wieder reingemacht wenn unser eigener Slave Stack
Fertig ist.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:05 pm
Posts: 97
Thanks a lot for your reply.

I'll be watching for 3.5 SP7.

Thank you.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:32 pm
Posts: 32
With the new Version V3.5 SP7 Patch 1 it works.
The EtherNet_IP_Adapter must be version 3.5.7.10.
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Instructions in the appendix!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:14 am
Posts: 2
Hello,

I am very new to CodeSys so if this is an obvious answer please bear with me.

I was able to create a very simple project and add the EthernetIP modules for inputs & outputs.

I Configured an AB L32E Compactlogix processor for generic ethernet io and that appears to be functional as well. The IO tree indicates no problems. If I unplug the ethernet cable from the RPi the IO tree indicates an issue. If I manually edit the input value it gets reset to zero. So I am pretty sure the L32E is talking to the RPi OK.

My goal was to have a single line ladder program that moved the Ethernet Input word to the Ethernet Output word. Thus if I change the output word in the L32E it should show up in the input word in the L32E. However I have been unable to accomplish this. I can not even get the Ethernet Input word to show any indication that it is receiving data from the L32E.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:14 am
Posts: 2
Progress!!! But new questions. :)

I believe I ran into my 2 hr limit and after that the Ethernet devices had a red triangle next to them. I could not figure out how to start the bus again so I deleted the ethernet/ip devices and re-entered them. My simple program with a single rung (mov) instruction now works. Not sure what the heck was wrong to begin with.

First new question, how do I get the red triangles to disappear without deleting & re-entering the Ethernet/IP devices?

2nd Question, is there any way to have more than one input and one output word for the Ethernet/IO slave?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:05 pm
Posts: 97
I also want to know how to add more IOs in the EthernetIp Module.

It must be possible to exchange an array of bytes for exemple?

Thank you.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3499
Hi,

that way.. and let me check if array's and more is possible.

BR
Edwin


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:01 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Canada
Hi everyone,

Sure it's possible to use Raspi as an node with CompactLogix AB, but not sure if it's possible to read and write data, actualy, with my setup, i can read data from Raspi with my compactlogix, but in the other direction (Write Data from CompactLogix to Raspi), look's bad for the moment!

At the Codesys Side (Raspi), i create 1 ENIP module (For Input transaction) and 1 ENIP module (For Output transaction) only Output working!

From Compactlogix, to read data from raspi node, i use Service Code 0X0EH an it run and to tried to write data to Raspi, i used Service Code 0X10H but i receive this message (Unsupported service requested)!!!! :evil:

If somebody did, could you help me?

Regards

Eric Dostie
iko innovations


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:52 am
Posts: 7
Bastler83 wrote:
With the new Version V3.5 SP7 Patch 1 it works.
The EtherNet_IP_Adapter must be version 3.5.7.10.
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Instructions in the appendix!


This looks very exciting. I can get the Pi online with no errors, but seems not able to read it from the Controllogix. Which CIP message should I use?

I appreciate the help so much!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 6:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3499
Hi,
I would recommend to use the attached EDS file.
This is the EDS which is installed in the CODESYS device repository

BR
Edwin


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:52 am
Posts: 7
Thank you for the reply Edwin!
I tried to install the EDS file with RSLinx on the controllogix, however I still cannot get the Controllogix talk to the Pi...
I attached some screenshots which indicates the communication loss.
Any helps are highly appreciated!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ethernet/Ip Slave
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 3499
Hi,
if you are online is the EIP Adapter 'green'?
You could add the device name of the adapter (name in the device tree) to the watchlist to have more diagnosis Information.

BR
Edwin


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited