Welcome to our new forum
All users of the legacy CODESYS Forums, please create a new account at account.codesys.com. But make sure to use the same E-Mail address as in the old Forum. Then your posts will be matched. Close

Modbus TCP programming

cincidude
2009-06-01
2009-06-16
  • cincidude - 2009-06-01

Hello,

I'm a newbie to modbus communication. I have a Festo PLC and have configured the Modbus TCP server and can connect to it using a freeware Modbus TCP client

Now I want to test the addressing. Apparently the addressing insde the Festo PLC is open and the user is free to choose his own addressing. I'm not sure if I have to write code in Codesys to map the IO and then address these addresses from the client? Or does Codesys provide a way to define this addressing?? Please advice or provide example if available.

Thanks,

-Dude

• cincidude - 2009-06-04

As a follow-up to my own post, I was able to map the Outputs on my Festo PLC to the Mobbus TCP address space. This is the format I used:

Output0 := PLC_PRG.awModbusData[0].0;

Output1 := PLC_PRG.awModbusData[0].1;

I can successfully switch on these outputs from my ModBus Client. However the same mapping does not work if I want to read in Inputs. Codesys gives the following error:

Error 4020: Operands of 'ST', 'STN', 'S', 'R' must be variables with write access or direct address.

I tried using direct addressing and symbolic names but does not work. Any ideas??

Thanks,

-Dude

• spfeif - 2009-06-16

Sounds like you did the following:

Input0 := PLC_PRG.awModbusData[1].0;

Input1 := PLC_PRG.awModbusData[1].1;

This would cause the error you described change it to :

PLC_PRG.awModbusData[1].0 := Input0;

PLC_PRG.awModbusData[1].1 := Input1;

Or you don't have awModbusData[1] configured as output instead as input this will not give it write access as well. Sounds like you might have one or both variables configured as inputs (readonly).