CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software

Welcome to the official CODESYS Forum by 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH | A member of the CODESYS Group
Deutsche Version English version russian version 
It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:33 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:21 am
Posts: 15
Hi,
I have developed a python script for performing a series of tasks and this script is being called from TestManager using System command "ExecuteExternalCommand". The script runs well for a while, but after sometime it stops execution and the test manager times out. However the script works well and executes till the end when executed from Windows command line. I want to know if there is way to debug the python script execution status or any way to know the reason behind the script execution being stalled after a while.

Many Thanks,
Mazahar S


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 2:31 pm 
Offline
Frequent User
Frequent User

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:20 am
Posts: 254
Hi.

Without further information I can only guess but the configuration entry "Wait for exit" is empty? Otherwise the program is terminated after the specified time.

BR
Martin

_________________
Check out the CODESYS store: http://store.codesys.com/

CODESYS® a trademark of 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH
Inspiring Automation Solutions


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:21 am
Posts: 15
Hi Martin,
The Wait for exit is configured to 20 mins. The test program is terminated after 20 mins. But the python script when executed from Windows command line finishes execution well within 20 mins.

Many Thanks,
Mazahar S


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 3:24 pm 
Offline
Frequent User
Frequent User

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:20 am
Posts: 254
Hi Mazahar,

could it be that your python script writes quite a lot to the standard output and/or standard error?

If that's the case then one of the streams, which are used to redirect the output of the process, could be full and block the process until its terminated.

BR
Martin

_________________
Check out the CODESYS store: http://store.codesys.com/

CODESYS® a trademark of 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH
Inspiring Automation Solutions


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:21 am
Posts: 15
Hi Martin,
Thank you for the quick response. My python script indeed had some prints to the standard output. Deleting them fixed the issue.

Many Thanks,
Mazahar S


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:33 pm 
Offline
Frequent User
Frequent User

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:20 am
Posts: 254
Hi Mazahar.

Your problem was filed on our Jira Database as issue TM-232, so it will be fixed eventually.

BR
Martin

_________________
Check out the CODESYS store: http://store.codesys.com/

CODESYS® a trademark of 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH
Inspiring Automation Solutions


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited