CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software
https://forum.codesys.com/

softplc <-> opc <-> simulated process, does it w
https://forum.codesys.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=99
Page 1 of 1

Author:  JuPe [ Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:48 pm ]
Post subject:  softplc <-> opc <-> simulated process, does it w

Hello,

I have a descrete event simulation model of a manufacturing line. The simulation tool has an integrated OPC client for accessing the model's I/O signals.

I am thinking to build a training system for teaching 1131 programming with a soft plc tool over this simulation system.

My question is, could I use codesys soft plc to write a control application, which reads process measurements and writes control signals to the simulation model via codesys opc server?

sensor -> simulator opc client -> codesys opc server -> soft plc input

and

soft plc output -> codesys opc server -> simulator opc client -> actuator


Thanks!

JuPe

Author:  Roland Wagner [ Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

Yes, of course such a configuration is possible.

You can use the CoDeSys OPC server to communicate with any OPC client in writing and reading mode. The CoDeSys SoftPLCs (both CoDeSys SP RTE with hard real time properties as well as PLCWinNT with soft real time properties) can communicate with any OPC client via the CoDeSys OPC server. As the OPC standard is not very strict in special cases there might nevertheless be some problems. Anyway CoDeSys is tested for the most important OPC clients. In case of problems please do not hesitate to contact the 3S support hotline.

The same configuration is used when there is a data exchange with other OPC clients, e.g. visualisation systems.

Author:  crl [ Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: softplc <-> opc <-> simulated process, does it w

Codesys can act as OPC server and communicate with OPC client.

Could we also use CoDeSys as an OPC client and communicate with an opc server?

Regards

Cyril

Author:  Roland Wagner [ Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: softplc <-> opc <-> simulated process, does it w

So far CoDeSys only has an OPC server and cannot act as an OPC client.

There is a proprietary interface available which can handle both directions (PLCHandler), but this is of course no longer OPC.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/