CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software

Welcome to the official CODESYS Forum by 3S-Smart Software Solutions GmbH | A member of the CODESYS Group
Deutsche Version English version russian version 
It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:01 am
Posts: 5
Hey,

I added an empty box on the CFC canvas of a program inside my project and for some reason this led to Codesys crashing. Now I can no longer open the program in question inside the project. If I try, I always get the following error message:

Attachment:
error_message1.PNG


As with other messages like this I've got before, none of the buttons does much good. Ignore removes the message, but doesn't open the program and instead creates another message which states "Object reference not set to an instance of an object". Abort and retry lead to Codesys crashing.

In build messages there are errors pointing to the empty box ('???') as there should be when trying to build a program with an empty operator.

I do have a backup of course, but I did lose a couple of hours worth of programming work, so it would be nice to know (for me and anyone else using this platform)
what exactly caused this and is there any way to prevent it from happening or to recover the program.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:42 am
Posts: 49
Hi iika,
try remove to *.opt files in the project directory. It should give you a chance to open project without crash. Does it chashes if you open this CFC POU?
If yes: Which version you are using? Try to export this POU in native XML (not PLCopenXML) and post the XML file here here, if possible.
Regards,
Roman


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:01 am
Posts: 5
r.evbatyrov wrote:
Hi iika,
try remove to *.opt files in the project directory. It should give you a chance to open project without crash. Does it chashes if you open this CFC POU?
If yes: Which version you are using? Try to export this POU in native XML (not PLCopenXML) and post the XML file here here, if possible.
Regards,
Roman



Hey Roman,

I am able to open the project. The problem is that I can no longer open the POU. I am using Codesys 3.5.10.

Sadly I cannot post the files here, but I am able to recreate the problem if I insert an empty box to a CFC program and connect the pins somewhere before declaring the box as an object (eg. a function). This will cause similar error messages to appear and if I close this POU I cannot open it again.

BR,
Iiro


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:42 am
Posts: 49
Hi liro,

I cannot reproduce your problem. Please provide detailed steps to repeat.
Which version you are using? Is this normal or page-oriented CFC?
Is the problem reproducible "from scratch" (with standard project using template)?
How do you insert the box - with Copy/Paste, with Toolbox, with menu?

Please note, that "function" has not to be declared, so your box is definetely not a function.

Regards
Roman


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:01 am
Posts: 5
r.evbatyrov wrote:
Hi liro,

I cannot reproduce your problem. Please provide detailed steps to repeat.
Which version you are using? Is this normal or page-oriented CFC?
Is the problem reproducible "from scratch" (with standard project using template)?
How do you insert the box - with Copy/Paste, with Toolbox, with menu?

Please note, that "function" has not to be declared, so your box is definetely not a function.

Regards
Roman



Hey,

sorry for the late reply and a bad choise of words: what I meant by "declaration" was the process of setting the empty object (a new box in CFC) to a reference, i.e. naming it as a function or a fb.

I'm using Codesys 3.5.10 and normal CFC (not page oriented). I inserted the box from the toolbox.

So basically what I did was that I entered a new box to an existing program and connected the leads to other boxes before I gave the object a reference (it was still pointing to '???'). This recreated the same error and when I closed the PRG editor I could not open it again.

The weird part is, that when I tried this on another program, I was able to connect the leads to other boxes before naming the box as anything without getting any error messages whatsoever. I'm going to try this out on an empty program next and see what happens.

BR,
Iiro


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:42 am
Posts: 49
Hi liro,

you are using pretty old (about two years old) version.
This problem was fixed in 3.5.10.1; released February 2017.

Regards,
Roman


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:01 am
Posts: 5
Hi,

thanks for the information.

I was using a version that was provided by a device manufacturer with their SDK. Luckily they have just issued an update which supports 3.5.13. I did some testing and it seems like the issue is now fixed.

BR,
Iiro


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited