Welcome to our new forum
All users of the legacy CODESYS Forums, please create a new account at account.codesys.com. But make sure to use the same E-Mail address as in the old Forum. Then your posts will be matched. Close

Codesys Vs RsLogix vs Step7

nerdbotbot
2017-10-09
2017-12-21
  • nerdbotbot - 2017-10-09

Hi,

Recently, I graduated with a degree in Mechatronics. I carried my curriculum internship and project at Festo and Bosch - Rexroth. At both firms, I used Codesys for PLC programming.

I have been applying for entry-level positions at small/ medium size system integrators. Most of them use Allen-Bradley/ Siemens PLC. I was told to learn RsLogix and Step7.

So, I have a few questions:

1. Has anyone worked with all three packages?

2. What are the major diferrences?

3. Will my experience with Codesys be of any help?

4. Is it possible to learn RsLogix and Step7 on my own?

Thank you

• Anonymous - 2017-12-05

Originally created by: scott_cunningham

I know there are people that have programmed in all three, but I think there are a lot more that program either RsLogix and CoDeSys or Siemens and CoDeSys. I was hoping to see some comments, but I will at least give you my two cents...

First, I would say the places you were applying to clearly didn't want to school you on Rockwell or Siemens software. They wanted someone they could send to plant X and fix problem A. Don't forget to look at control manufactures that make devices running CoDeSys - they need to support their customers who buy the product.

CoDeSys is an IDE (development environment). You have the choice of the six different programming languages for any of the "POU"s.