CODESYS - the IEC 61131-3 automation software

Welcome to the official CODESYS Forum
Deutsche Version English version russian version 
It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 1:11 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SoftPLC to OPC Server
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hello, first post here

I'm exploring the option of using Codesys as a SoftPLC to test PLC programs on my laptop. I want to install an OPC server on the network that will be used to test applications using OPC data.

Is it possible for the SoftPLC to communicate with a remote OPC server? If so, which OPC servers are compatible?

Also, I'm not sure exactly what functionality the SoftPLC has therefore I'm not sure it is suitable for what I am looking for. Can it / Does it act as a simulator? I don't have any physical IO i want to connect to I just want to simulate IO in the PLC program.

Thanks in advance


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 1942
Hi,
I would recommend use CODESYS V3 - Control Win plc.
This is the softplc without realtime capabilities and an built in OPCUA Server is included.
No externel OPC Server is needed.
Optional you could add IO's by an Ethernet based fieldbus (Ethercat/Profinet/EthernetIP.....etc)

How to start?
Download CODESYS V3
http://store.codesys.com/engineering/codesys.html
-After installing and executing the CODESYS developmentsystem to our pc you need to start the plc
-use attached example project, start the plc, scan it by CODESYS and download the project and start it
- connect you OPCUA Client to the plc and browse the symbols
This is a lot easier than using an external OPC Server which offten is hard to configure.
BR
Edwin


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Edwin thanks for your response.

I appreciate the difficulties in configuring an external OPC server but in reality I would find it useful to get the practical experience of solving these issues. Is an external OPC server compatible with the Control Win?

Also, what is the difference between Control Win and Control RTE? I understand RTE is real time but how can a PLC not be real time?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:42 am
Posts: 1942
Hi,

yes the OPC Server is compatible with Control Win and Control RTE.

Quote:
Also, what is the difference between Control Win and Control RTE?
I understand RTE is real time but how can a PLC not be real time?

Some Application do not really have this requirement..

BR
Edwin


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited