Welcome to our new forum
All users of the legacy CODESYS Forums, please create a new account at account.codesys.com. But make sure to use the same E-Mail address as in the old Forum. Then your posts will be matched. Close

Get Variables from GVL

Anonymous
2017-01-13
2017-02-08
  • Anonymous - 2017-01-13

Originally created by: Massimo.Milluzzo

Hi all,
    I need to get the name of the variables from the GVL of my application in order to perform some check on the names. How can I get these informations?
    Should I read the entire GVL file and parse the text line by line? In that case how can I do it?
    I'm totally new in this field (execute Python script in Codesys) and I don't know which functions are available...do you have a guide or something similar?

Thank you very much,
    Best regards.
    Massimo

• mkeller - 2017-01-13

Hi Massimo.

Massimo.Milluzzo hat geschrieben:
    I need to get the name of the variables from the GVL of my application in order to perform some check on the names. How can I get these informations?
    Should I read the entire GVL file and parse the text line by line? In that case how can I do it?

You can export your GVL in PLCopenXML and look for the XML node "globalVars" which represents a GVL. You find the variables below that node.

Here some code for exporting a GVL as PLCopenXML:

class ExportHandler(ExportReporter):    
        def error(self, object, message):   
            system.write_message(Severity.Error, "Error exporting %s: %s" % (object, message))
        def warning(self, object, message):   
            system.write_message(Severity.Warning, "Warning exporting %s: %s" % (object, message))
        def nonexportable(self, object):   
            system.write_message(Severity.Information, "Object not exportable: %s" % object)
        @property
        def aborting(self):
            return False;
    \#
    \# Main program
    \#
    proj = projects.primary
    found = proj.find('GVL', True)
    assert(found)