Welcome to our new forum
All users of the legacy CODESYS Forums, please create a new account at account.codesys.com. But make sure to use the same E-Mail address as in the old Forum. Then your posts will be matched. Close

Deploy an external library to CODESYS Control RTE v3

2013-04-02
2017-02-16
  • SimonPeckmore - 2013-04-02

Hi there,

I'm brand new to CODESYS (and IEC 61131 in general) and have been given a research assignment to bring me up to speed with a project currently in progress at work. I'm trying to investigate deploying an application to a CODESYS Control RTE v3 runtime that contains a function defined in a C library.

So far I have:

Following the documentation, my two CODESYS projects appear to be working correctly - the base project successfully calls the library project and, when attempting to download the project to my RTE target, I receive the "1 unresolved reference" error as expected. I'm now not sure how to proceed in deploying the C library to the target device so that the reference can be resolved.

If I remove the reference to the library project from my base project (and update the code accordingly) I can successfully download and run the project on the RTE target, so I am at least confident that aspect is working.

If anyone would anyone be able to offer any assistance with this or point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

• TimvH

TimvH - 2013-05-12

You need the runtime toolkit to be able to extend the RTE with additional external libraries.
    Please contact 3S-Smart Software Solutions or your local distributor for this toolkit.

• SimonPeckmore - 2013-05-29

TimvH, many thanks for your response.

I wanted to post an update with information I found regarding this in case it was of use to anyone else attempting to do the same. After contact with 3S it turns out that external libraries (DLLs containing C functions) can only be used with CODESYS Control WIN, and not with CODESYS Control RTE.